Handwritten student note that says "I like the teacher."

Our Administration

Carol Henderson

Head of School

Masters of Education Early Childhood Education North Georgia College and State University
BS Early Childhood Education Georgia State University
Reading Endorsement North Georgia College and State University
Highly Qualified Level in Special Education on Georgia Teaching certificate
WRS Level I Certified, Wilson® Dyslexia Practitioner


Our Office

Jennifer Kilpatrick

Front Office


Our Faculty

Sandy Blankenship

Elementary/Middle School/High School Teacher

CREDENTIALS: M.F.A., Theatre & Arts Administration, Florida State University B.M.E., Music Education, University of Montevallo, Alabama Graduate Credits from Brenau University, Georgia Southern University, and Middlebury College/Bread Loaf School of English 32 years teaching experience

Kris Mayfield

Elementary Teacher

Credentials: Elementary Credentials: B.S. in Elementary Education, Liberty University, WRS Level I Certified, Wilson® Dyslexia Practitioner

Maura Pittman

Middle School Teacher

Credentials: B.S. in Science Speech Pathology & Audiology, Boston University Teacher Certification Program, University of Georgia Special Education General Curriculum Consultative P-12 teacher, WRS Level I Certified, Wilson® Dyslexia Practitioner ​

Deana Mitchell

Elementary Teacher

Credentials: Bachelors in Education from University of Georgia Orton Gillingham certified 24 years teaching experience

Karen Brotheron

Elementary/Middle School/High School Teacher

Credentials: BS Elementary Education with a minor in Science Education, University of Nevada, Las Vegas Masters of Curriculum and Instruction, Lincoln Memorial University, Tennessee WRS Level I Certified, Wilson® Dyslexia Practitioner 4 semesters as adjunct professor at a community college in Tennessee ​​30 Years of teaching experience

Kristin Johnson

Elementary/Middle School Teacher

Credentials: Bachelors in special education at Anderson University in South Carolina 7 years of experience teaching elementary special education

Our Board

Pictured Left to Right: Ava White (Founder of AOI), Martha Megahee (Chairman of the Board), Veronica Read, Richard Malcolm​, Brent Hatcher
Not Pictured: Sonia Rice, Jane Bowmar, Anthony Dye